Yearly Archives: 2018

Fall 2018 Orchestra Info

I hope you have had a great summer and are ready to begin a new season with the ICCSO!

Rehearsals begin September 11! As in the past, rehearsals are every Tuesday at the North Preucil campus, 2916 Northgate Drive in Iowa City. This includes the Tuesday before the concert on November 13th which in the past has been at the concert venue.

Dress Rehearsal at Englert on Saturday, November 17, 9:00 am-noon
Concert is November 18 at 3 pm at the Englert Theatre. Call will be at 1:30 or 2:00 for warmup.

Fall Program:
Scarlatti – Cat’s Fugue
Mozart – Adagio and Fugue
Justice – Sunday Afternoons
Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Katie Wolfe, soloist)

If you’re interested in joining, please contact the orchestra president for more information!

Fall 2018 Information Coming Soon

Detailed information will be available soon for the Fall 2018 rehearsals and concert which will again feature one of our favorite performers, Katie Wolfe, Associate Professor of Violin at the University of Iowa.

If you are interested in joining the orchestra as a player, please head over to our new member page ( to be added to our membership mailing list.

Spring 2018 Information

The Iowa City Community String Orchestra will begin rehearsals in just a few weeks on Tuesday, January 30th.

Please sing up by the 23rd (a week before) by using the form at

This Spring’s Schedule:
January 30th
February 6th, 13th, 20th, 27th
March 6th, 20th, 27th (no rehearsal on 3/13)
April 3rd, 10th, 24th (no rehearsal on 4/17)

Dress Rehearsal – April 28th
Concert – April 29th

Regular rehearsals will all be at
Preucil North Campus
916 Northgate Dr.
Iowa City, IA 52245

Dress Rehearsals and Concert will be at
West High School
2901 Melrose Ave
Iowa City, IA 52246

The program will feature soloist Courtney Miller on the oboe:
Josh Barron – The Endless Sea, Op. 2 (First Performance)
Tomaso Albinoni (1671 – 1751) – Concerto for Oboe in D minor, Op. 9 No. 2
Astor Piazzolla (1921 – 1992) – Oblivion for Oboe and Strings (arr. Robert Longfield)
Carl Nielsen (1865 – 1931) – Little Suite for Strings, Op. 1